(100th Post) – Déjà vu

On episode 17 of the second season of Fringe, titled ‘White Tulip’ this short dialogue was exchanged between Olivia (Anna Torv) and Peter (Joshua Jackson; tv’s ‘Dawson’s Creek’), two of the main characters…..

Olivia
Wow, I’m having déjà vu.
Peter
I read that déjà vu is fate’s way of telling you that you are exactly where you are supposed to be. That’s why you feel like you’ve been there before. You are right in line with your own destiny.
Olivia
Well, do you believe that?
Peter
Eh, no. It’s a bit mystical for my tastes. I never get them myself. Maybe that’s because I’m not on track with my own destiny.

For me, what would trigger these moments would mostly be images and the orientation of objects in my current setting. I often remember having dreamed the exact same situation that gave me this feeling of déjà vu. It’s a french word first coined in the book “The Future of Psychic Sciences”, written by Emile Boirac (a french psychic researcher) and is explained as being when an individual feels as though an event has already happened or has happened in the recent past.

I don’t remember how I felt or recall the last time this occurrence happened but I’m sure it’s different for everyone. No doubt some individuals would be rather freaked out by this or think it’s quite humorous and a smile comes across their face. This phenomenon has been the subject of both psychological and neuropsychological research but is extremely difficult to recreate the experience though some researchers have claimed they’ve been succesful using hypnosis.

How Peter describes déjà vu is an interesting theory on the matter to go along with various other theories that have been made. It definitely could act as a comfort knowing that you are going down the correct path you are supposed to…. if you believe in that of course.

Leave a Reply

