I Can Never Be A Morning Person

I tend to stay up late, not because I’m partying but because it’s the only time of the day when I’m alone. It’s interesting the thoughts you have and how clear things seem to be when you’re laying there in the dark or on the couch with a dim light on. Maybe you’re thinking about the events of the day, the people you saw, the friend you were with or a memory. Most of the time when I’m up late I usually lay in bed with a movie playing whether I’m paying attention to it differs day-to-day, sometimes it’s just background, something to fall asleep to. I like using this time to write, maybe talk to some friends online and assess what happened that day and improve upon it tomorrow.

It’s like being in meditation, letting the pressures of everyday living slip away. It’s just easy to do at night for me because once morning comes and that alarm goes off I’m up and dreading having to get ready for work since I always just want to lay in bed a little bit longer….. maybe finish that dream I was right in the middle of and was just getting good. Go to the bathroom, brush my teeth, think about shaving, wonder why my atomic clock is three minutes fast, get my gym bag ready, do I bring my personal laptop to work today?…… take mom to work, go to work, go to gym, go home, hang out with friends or family….. Lights turn off….. My time.

What about the times when you’re not alone? The times when you crash at a friend’s house, or out in the living room with your roommate(s) falling asleep to the television, or maybe next to a loved one…. Do you think about how you came to know this person? How appreciative or unappreciative are you to have that person(s) in your life? Is she/he the one? Does it make you long for the morning to come to see what the next day has in store? Who are you going to be when you wake up?

“Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible.” – T.E. Lawrence

By Elric Posted in Life

Leave a Reply

